DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Used smartphones

PoAia

Reactions
Hey guys I'm a newbie I have a mini2 and was thinking of buying a used I phone and plan to use it only to fly my mini ,question is does the phone need to be activated

No, as long as it works, but some of the older phones get weighed down with memory issues.
Regards

Thanks for that information I never thought about that
And the Android DJI Fly app for the mini 2 requires a 64 bit processor. Won't even install on a device with a 32 bit processor. Best to check the list of approved devices on the DJI site before you pull the trigger.

(DJI Fly - Download Center - DJI)

Other devices "may" work but proceed with caution.

Be Careful Out There...

Reactions: Gagey52
I'm constantly getting calls while flying so I use an iPad. If you're looking for a dedicated device, an iPad (even a mini) works pretty well and the bigger screen can be helpful. Just get a cheap tablet holder for your controller on amazon.

Also check compatibility against the version of the app you are likely to use, possibly for the reasons given in post #2

Reactions: PoAia
And the Android DJI Fly app for the mini 2 requires a 64 bit processor. Won't even install on a device with a 32 bit processor. Best to check the list of approved devices on the DJI site before you pull the trigger.

(DJI Fly - Download Center - DJI)

Other devices "may" work but proceed with caution.

Be Careful Out There...
Thanks I heard that the I phones or the I pad mini works best with dji products

A UK spec Samsung S6 works perfectly well for me for the fly app and can be quite cheap, I have several. I use pre 1.2 versions of the app for my mavic mini, 1.3 (I think) for the mini 2 and 1.4.8? for the FPV. The reason for the pre 1.2 versions is that I like readable logs that I can process with CsvView etc.