DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Using Ipad mini 2 with the Mavic

Montypaks

Reactions
So I'm new to all this and got an iPad mini2 in anticipation of my Mavic..

I took my first "major" flight today and the mini2 let me down majorly.
It was supposed to be dedicated to the Mavic only and I have nothing on it apart from drone related apps like B4UFLY, Hover etc and the app for this forum, so the iPad was as "fresh" as it could be!

During the flight, I received warnings that the cpu was overloaded and it was lagging like hell!

Any advice? Should I give up and sell this iPad now? What's the way forward?

So I'm new to all this and got an iPad mini2 in anticipation of my Mavic..

I took my first "major" flight today and the mini2 let me down majorly.
It was supposed to be dedicated to the Mavic only and I have nothing on it apart from drone related apps like B4UFLY, Hover etc and the app for this forum, so the iPad was as "fresh" as it could be!

During the flight, I received warnings that the cpu was overloaded and it was lagging like ****!

Any advice? Should I give up and sell this iPad now? What's the way forward?
It should be app issue not device problem. I have same problems with ipad 4 dedicated device and is starts after a certain app ver. update (i don't remember which one)...

Sounds like a pain but I'd try a factory reset, should be no issues with the ipad mini 2. Try ensuring your icloud & wifi is off too when you fly. What iOS is it?

Ok thanks for the suggestion... I'll try that! Since it's a dedicated device, I didn't think I'll have to put it on airplane mode too.

It's running iOS 10.3
Hesitant to update to iOS 11 as the newer os versions are usually heavier.

Also read that disabling cache in the DJI app could help as well... I'll do all that and feedback

read that disabling cache in the DJI app could help as well