DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video editing software

SHRED

Reactions
I finally have upgraded my Windows desktop computer.

I'm a total newbie and have only edited with GoPro software and Windows Movie Maker.

I'm looking for software suggestions I can use to edit videos from my Mini 3 Pro that is easy to learn the basics on but powerful enough for more in depth editing should I choose.

Thanks

What's the learning curve on that? It's it difficult?
Don't let anyone tell you it's easy. Well... it's easy... :)...but it's going to take a good deal of time and many hours of video tutorials to get command of it. You will be learning more details for years to come. You could take a full semester college class in it and you'd still be a beginner. It may be that Premier Pro is just slightly easier but that comes at a literal cost. Getting up and running and doing the basics isn't hard but simply learning the interface will be a few hours of practice, just for the basics. There are easier, simpler programs out there to be sure and a bit of web searching will come up with a few names that will be regularly recommended. Adobe Premiere Elements is a simplified version of Premiere Pro and it's a one time payment but upgrades then cost. Premiere Elements can work for many people but IF you get serious about this at some point you will find there are color grading options or other things you want to do that these basic programs won't do. If you know you are good with simple, uncomplicated editing then go for a freebee or Premiere Elements but if you are "into" video and envision wanting to do a really good job with your video then you are stuck with the learning curve of Premiere or the free version of Resolve.

I use the free version of DaVinci Resolve and I taught myself watching a few videos on YouTube.