DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video Image Freezes on Screen in DJI Go4 App

MDJ

Reactions
Hi,

I've had a problem recently where, on a couple of occasions while I am recording a video, the video images freezes on the screen of my phone and does not change. The rest of the app seems to work properly but the video image does not change as I steer the drone. I'm using the latest version of the app using iOS on an iPhone 6s.

Anyone have any idea why this might be happening and suggestions as to what I should do when it happens? I'm relatively new to this so I don't want to lose control of my Mavic Pro. As a result, whenever it happened I land and then reboot everything which seems to solve the problem but is a pain. Any suggestions as to what I could do to resolve this while still continuing the flight?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Marcus

Reactions: kei888
First. Make sure your cable between the phone and RC is good. Most have better luck with a quality OEM cable for the phone plugged into the full size usb in the bottom of the RC. Make sure to remove the cable completely from the side usb.
Second, make sure the phone has plenty of free resources. Shut down every app but DJI go4. It is good practice to shut the iPhone completely off and restart it before flight.
If you get lots of calls,texts,and notifications, put the phone in airplane mode to shut off wifi Bluetooth and cellular traffic.
Also make sure IOS is up to date, software and firmware also needs to be up to date.

Do everything what @ac0j recommends but just to put your mind at rest it’s not going to be a phone issue. I use the same iPhone with 0 problems.

Thank you both. I suspect that it could be because the storage on the phone is maxed out. Time to do some spring (winter?) cleaning and get rid of the apps I'm not using.

Thanks again.