DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video of Walker Lake, Nevada

Critiquing someone’s work can be challenging and it takes practice. Before I take my time to provide feedback, I will ask the person who submitted a video to first do their own critique and share some background as to why submit this video, what did you like/dislike, and what would you do differently?

I look for a video that is engaging on a number of levels.

I look for a video that is engaging on a number of levels.
I've been an exhibiting photographer for 50 years.* When deciding to share an image/video we should be our own worst critic. The Video/Image should be concise and have a point of interest. Think of friends and relatives upon returning from a vacation, they share 100 of their favorite videos/photos. Snooze time for viewers.

I was on the Oregon Coast 6 weeks ago. Between camera and Mavic 2 Pro I had over 500 shutter clicks. Of those, there are only 5 images I felt were strong enough to share.

* MartyMarkoePhotography Web Site

“Of those, there are only 5 images I felt were strong enough to share.“

Exactly! Same experience.

“Of those, there are only 5 images I felt were strong enough to share.“

Exactly! Same experience.
It's great so many people are excited about flying drones and recording Video and Photos. This conversation is not meant as a personal attack. It is meant as a way to help people share their strongest and best in order to keep viewers interested. There is one guy on the list who is an excellent pilot and prolific videographer. I rarely watch his videos as they are long and repetitious, though occasionally, within these there is a gem.

Seems you may miss a lot of things ... oh well .... good luck droning
Flying a drone is a skill, not a matter of luck.

Instead of offering a snarky response, tell us what you got out of it? By this I mean, what did you learn or what emotion did the video evoke for you?

Marty Markoe