DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Want to buy first Drone

Electromen

Reactions
I've wanted a Drone since they first came out. Now, my Grandson is 10 yrs old and is interested in them. So it's time to purchase one.
I'm looking at the Mavic series. I've narrowed it down to the Mavic Air 2 Fly more Combo and the Mavic 2 Pro.
I have a background in professional photography, so that's why I'm interested in the Pro.
Any suggestions? I have no experience with a flying.

Hi Electromen Welcome to Mavic Pilots.
Considering you are a photographer I say go for the Mavic 2 Pro, no contest in my opinion.
That was my thought -Pro. The reason I didn't buy one earlier is I figured it would be damaged or caught in a treetop. Should I buy or lesser/beginner model or do you think the Mavic is OK for a first Drone.

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching . ?

Is your grandson likely to be involved with it and play with it? It's just I am thinking an M2P is likely to be a dangerous thing for a 10 year old to be 'near' or to have access to.
I don't know how knife like the props of an Air 2 are.

A 'toy' for you and a separate toy for him might be the safest thing.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

Considering you are a photographer I say go for the Mavic 2 Pro, no contest in my opinion.

Speaking as a photographer, I've been over the moon with the Mavic Air 2 Fly More Kit. Do I wish it had the Hassy optics? Yup. Do I wish it were better at low light? Yup.

But the MA2 has a *lot* of features for the new drone pilot, and you can get into the Fly More kit for less than two-thirds the price of a bare M2P.