DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Was threatened to be arrested

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexprecept

Reactions
Was filming a protest today in southern California and had 4 officers say I would be arrested if I didn't land my drone cause they had a police drone (no markings, lights and impossible to differentiate from a consumer one) flying and I was apparently interrupting their surveillance of the protest. Is this legal or has anyone else dealt with this ?

Reactions: hiflyer201
I am very surprised widespread, inner city areas of protest are not declared NFZ's, but regardless, if the Police on the ground declare the situation an emergency operation, they have the authority to ground you at a minimum, and their doing so is legal.

I'm no pro and not107 certified but the rec rules are a bit different and you never specified your flight intent. I think FAA recreational flights state this:
Never interfere with emergency response activities such as disaster relief, any type of accident response, law enforcement activities, firefighting, or hurricane recovery efforts.

I get that but I can't find any law regarding drones in specific if anything what I've found is that they have to go thru tons of read tape to use them
Well i‘m pretty sure they have . They have enough to worry about with out civilians getting in the way.

I'm no pro and not107 certified but the rec rules are a bit different and you never specified your flight intent. I think FAA recreational flights state this:
Never interfere with emergency response activities such as disaster relief, any type of accident response, law enforcement activities, firefighting, or hurricane recovery efforts.
I guess it was also impossible to tell it was a police drone. Looked like an air or parrot. No lights or markings either

Attachments

• 20200602_180100.jpg
    20200602_180100.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 189
Honestly??