Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Waterfall in wooded gorge

Hiwayman

Active Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
29
Likes
14
#1
So, what would the experts on here advise,...I would like to film a local waterfall (not too close) that drops about 60 feet into a wooded valley. I may lose satellite for GPS as I descend, so any thoughts appreciated...( Including don't do it!!).
 

msinger

Well-Known Member
Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
17,642
Likes
8,889
Loc
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Site
www.MavicHelp.com
#2
Some thoughts:
  • Fly with a fully charged battery
  • Return home before the battery reaches the low level (you don't want it to auto land in the water)
  • Don't initiate RTH (that could cause the drone to land at its current location if the GPS signal is poor)
  • Set the "Remote Controller Signal Lost" setting to "Hover" (see the screenshot below)
  • Turn off the downward sensors if you're going to be flying close to the water (within 30 feet)
  • Don't fly near the surface of the water unless you're able to clearly see the drone with your eyes

DJI-GO-RC-Signal-Lost.jpg
 

swings16

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
141
Likes
72
#5
Tripod mode could be useful to give you a bit more control if you're close to banks, trees etc.
off topic in a way BUT..i still have not been able to get into TRIPOD MODE with my MP...I am familiar with a good amount of the functions but i am at a loss with Tripod Mode...I believe that the MP must be ON and ready to go and can not be set before being able to get into Tripod Mode...any help appreciated...Thanks,Swings16/Martin...NYC
 

FatherXmas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2017
Messages
497
Likes
348
Age
64
Loc
Mentone, Alabama
#6
Tripod mode could be useful to give you a bit more control if you're close to banks, trees etc.
Especially with a Mavic 2, having 360 obstacle avoidance is a definite plus.
 

FatherXmas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2017
Messages
497
Likes
348
Age
64
Loc
Mentone, Alabama
#7
off topic in a way BUT..i still have not been able to get into TRIPOD MODE with my MP...I am familiar with a good amount of the functions but i am at a loss with Tripod Mode...I believe that the MP must be ON and ready to go and can not be set before being able to get into Tripod Mode...any help appreciated...Thanks,Swings16/Martin...NYC
I think it has to actually be in the air. I know the Mavic 2 Pro is that way but been too long since I tried it with a Mavic Pro, I don't remember.
 

The Fat Controller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
162
Likes
129
Age
58
Loc
Bangor, Northern Ireland
#8
off topic in a way BUT..i still have not been able to get into TRIPOD MODE with my MP...I am familiar with a good amount of the functions but i am at a loss with Tripod Mode...I believe that the MP must be ON and ready to go and can not be set before being able to get into Tripod Mode...any help appreciated...Thanks,Swings16/Martin...NYC
The Mavic has to be in the air before you can activate tripod mode. Once it's off the ground and hovering just press the remote control icon (looks like a little robot) on the bottom left of your screen and you have access to the intelligent flight modes.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
58,203
Messages
680,346
Members
85,063
Latest member
capcAt-vijdo8-rabjef