DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Welcome from Southern California - Total Newbie :)

GoBigGuy

Reactions
Hi All,

My name is Jeff and I'm a total newbie to drones. (flew a toy a few years ago)

I'm a photographer looking for a new hobby to get into and this seems to be a perfect fit. I've been doing a lot of research and think I've picked the Mavic Pro Platinum. Figure for $100 more why not get the quieter Mavic with a little more flight time. I know a lot of people say to start off with a lesser of a drone and move up but I know my wife would kill me for that so just going to start with what I want.

My family just got a travel trailer a year ago and have been doing a lot of camping in some great locations so figure the drone would be another fun thing to do on the trips.

Figure I'll get the fly more bundle to really set me up. What other accessories should I get? Any websites or YouTube videos I should be looking at?

Thanks for the help!

Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :)

What other accessories should I get?
Here are my favorite Mavic accessories:
  • Extra Batteries (get them from DJI or Amazon)
  • Battery Charging Hub (makes it easier to charge multiple batteries)
  • Lens Pen (to easily clean the camera or ND filters)
  • Case (check out the Go Professional hard case or others here)
  • Extra Memory Card (find commonly used memory cards here)
  • Memory Card Reader (to easily transfer photos/videos from memory card to a computer)
  • ND Camera Filters (find a list of good brands to use here)
  • Toolkit (in case you need to disassemble anything)
  • Combined Gimbal Lock & Cover (the OEM cover has weak tabs that eventually break off)
  • Compatible Phone/Tablet to Fly (see a list of commonly used phones/tablets here)
  • Extended Landing Gear (in case you need more clearance between the camera & ground)

Any websites or YouTube videos I should be looking at?