DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What do you wish someone had told you before you started flying your DJI FPV?

Dangerly

Reactions
I'm more excited than I can say - I've got my still shrink-wrapped DJI FPV Combo sitting on my desk right now. What do you wish someone had told you before you started flying the FPV?

I've watched hours of first-time tutorial type Youtube videos, and I'm planning to log as many hours as it takes with the simulator. I've got 4 years experience flying various Mavic drones in all kinds of flying conditions, but never tried an FPV.

Any advice for an FPV newbie?

[Is this the best forum for this thread, or should I post this question somewhere else?]

Reactions: Chris4koi
They aren't that great in side winds.
I was, and am, greatly impressed by the banked-turn, scenic videos posted by alex_markov and thought it would be nice to try. But having flown one, (they are scarily fast or can be I the one I was flying had the MAD mode switched off), their video is very susceptable to side winds or at least that's what I found.
I also found it necessary to lean against a wall and not be to fierce banking and yanking otherwise I started to get seasick.
I really would prefer to be able to access the menus on the phone attached to the goggles but.......

They aren't that great in side winds.
I was, and am, greatly impressed by the banked-turn, scenic videos posted by alex_markov and thought it would be nice to try. But having flown one, (they are scarily fast or can be I the one I was flying had the MAD mode switched off), their video is very susceptable to side winds or at least that's what I found.
I also found it necessary to lean against a wall and not be to fierce banking and yanking otherwise I started to get seasick.
I really would prefer to be able to access the menus on the phone attached to the goggles but.......