DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What kind of registration? Both?

ForrestGunt

Reactions
I just bought my first drone, a Mavic Pro. I'm just learning but I want to pass the107 so I can use the drone for work, too. Should I register it now for recreation and again after I pass107? How does this work?

I just bought my first drone, a Mavic Pro. I'm just learning but I want to pass the107 so I can use the drone for work, too. Should I register it now for recreation and again after I pass107? How does this work?

You should register your drone regardless of whether you decide to take 107.

You should register your drone regardless of whether you decide to take 107.
Thank you! That was my first instinct, but wording in registration process implies I may be doing over again in a month. I assume there must be a lot of people doing the same thing, so they can probably re-classify. Thanks again.
FG

Should I register it now for recreation and again after I pass107?
If you register as Part 107 now, you'll be able to fly for both recreational and commercial purposes. The main difference is that you'll need to register each drone individually.

Reactions: MavicNoob79
Oh, well that's what I was thinking in the first place. Someone else responded to register either way. So I thought I had to register as hobby to be legal, so I did. Crap. I wish I would have waited for more than one response before taking advice. Thx

Registering as a hobbyist only registers yourself (and allows you to apply that registration number to all of your drones). You're only out $5, so don't sweat it too much ;)

Registering as a hobbyist only registers yourself (and allows you to apply that registration number to all of your drones). You're only out $5, so don't sweat it too much ;)