DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What LUT to merge with goPro

jpblcm

Reactions
Hello all,
I'm a video producer (only 4k) and I use 5 goPro for inside cars, motorbikes, boats... ground images from classical video camera (no dslr) and aerial footages (from MPP to P4v2p, most rarely Inspire). As color correction is now a big stage in the video production workflow, I shoot in flat mode on goPro and D-Log on drones. I merge images from a Sony pxwx70-4K licensed and a BMD Ursa mini 4k.
I'm not satisfied with the LUT I use, even the color corrections I do myself to really level all my chroma are time consuming.
There are so many LUT available. Have you an advice to share ?
Thanx

Hello all,
I'm a video producer (only 4k) and I use 5 goPro for inside cars, motorbikes, boats... ground images from classical video camera (no dslr) and aerial footages (from MPP to P4v2p, most rarely Inspire). As color correction is now a big stage in the video production workflow, I shoot in flat mode on goPro and D-Log on drones. I merge images from a Sony pxwx70-4K licensed and a BMD Ursa mini 4k.
I'm not satisfied with the LUT I use, even the color corrections I do myself to really level all my chroma are time consuming.
There are so many LUT available. Have you an advice to share ?
Thanx
Just so we understand your goal is to make the video from the various sources appear approximately the same?

If so my best advice would be to use the camera specific LUTs to convert the flat profiles to a standard Rec. 709 color space and then use a the same creative LUT on all the video to get a consistent as possible look.

If the various cameras are all shooting the same scene in a multi camera set up you can then use your NLE (Editing software) to do a color match on the all the video that covers the same scene.

This still isn’t perfect so it will likely require some additional tweaking on every shot.