DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What software is the best for editing vids and photos ?

I'm just trying to find one that will work without spending mucho $$$ on new computer equipment. Resolve refuses to run on my video card, a couple of "freebies" (open source) ones I've tried don't produce great results. I'm playing around with kdenlive right now...seems stable on my equipment, but, being new to all this, I'm still learning to fly. I'll worry about the video editing later! Good luck.

Windows 10 video editor is about as lite as it gets, and its pretty decent...from the start menu...If you just click on your video, to play, you will noticed at the bottom of the window a pencil icon, click it and you have a few choices like trim.
My computer is rather old, so what I do is I use windows 10 to trim and cut my footage, and its fast, (4k, 60fps) Then use those "good" files in Davinci, (takes an eternity to trim raw videos) and then put everything together.

Point being: Use windows 10 to cut and trim your videos into good segments, then use those in an editor or heck Windows 10 video editor is ok.. Mess around with it, its free and its already installed. Good luck...

WAIT, I did forget something, you will have to purchase the hvec codec, from the windows store, to watch and/or edit raw videos, it costs 99 cents. If windows don't play your videos it will give you links to the proper codec in the store.
Or you can search for it and purchase and install, from the store. It is well worth a dollar!!!!

Last edited:
Mostly I use Cyberlink PowerDirector (an old one at V16) and occasionally use Adobe Premier 2021. Cyberlink is reasonably priced and when you buy the suite you get all kinds of nice extras (like transitions). Also, there are plenty of videos on YouTube and even a couple of UDemy courses on PowerDirector.

What do you guys think ?