DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What's the best video editing software for windows?

JonnyBenson

Reactions
Hi

As you can see i'm a newbie here and I apologise if I've posted this in the wrong place.

I'm also a newbie to the mavic and video editing. My aim is to make a few videos and possibly put them on YouTube, but I need a bit of help first.

I've flown my mavic straight from the box and I have plenty of clips from the last 5 or 6 weeks with I think will be good enough. However, I believe I must be doing something wrong.

I have a brand new Asus intel core i7 laptop, but I've tried three different programs and even though i'm picking them up quite fast, they don't seem to be working properly. When I play a clip on my timeline it seems to freeze or buffer and I don't know why.

I've tried VideoPad, Lightworks and DaVinci Resolve.

Any ideas?

Depends on the speed/gpu of your laptop. If you are shooting in 4k, try switching to 2.7k instead.

I am currently trying Davinci Resolve and have found the following procedures the best way for working with 4K on an old i7, dedicated gpu (550m)

1/ Your 4K videos are compressed (h.264) which your pc/video editing software will have difficulties with. After reading many posts I have found using mpeg streamline to convert to DNxHR improves performance (you will get rather large files though)

2/ Import the new DNxHR video into Resolve, set your timeline to 1080p/720p depending on PC spec

3/ In playback option set cache to user and playback to half/quarter resolution depending on pc spec

4/Right click on media and select generate optimised media

5/ Once edited, selected Deliver tab for 4K rendering.

6/ For YOUTUBE select the YouTube option, increase res to 1080p and render speed to 50. Set to render to a separate drive to the media being used, making sure both are at least a usb 3.0 drive or SATA connected.