DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Who flies beyond line of sight?

dougiefresh27

Reactions
I know the rules are don't fly if you can't see your drone but.....
I see a lot of videos where it is a mile away

Personally I'm afraid to lose my Mavic Air
As I'm fairly new to the Air, I have not even gone beyond 1000 feet away

I call mine the "Predator Drone"

Tell me your stories

Attachments

• Predator Drone.jpg
    Predator Drone.jpg
    5.8 MB · Views: 552
Your question (and the answer to it) would be similar to asking "who drives at, or below the speed limit? Or who is speeding?
And you already know the answer.
speeding you ask? I will need to invoke the good ol' "Glomar response" and say I can neither confirm nor deny its existence.

Last edited:
I always keep to the height limit, unless I'm in the middle of nowhere and I want a particular shot. I do mostly fly to VLOS, but when I lose sight of my drone, I'm pretty confident that nobody else is going to see it either.
Legit, not strictly speaking, respectful and considerate, yes, all the time.

A bright flashing strobe light would do the trick. Omni directional
Agreed. The FAA requirements for 30 minutes pre-sunrise and 30 minutes post-sundown is a strobe that can be seen at 3 miles. That should provide a good distance while still VLOS.

Last edited:
Agreed. The FAA requirements for 30 minutes pre-sunrise and 30 minutes post-sundown is a strobe that can be seen at 2 miles. That should provide a good distance while still VLOS.

3 miles

b) No person may operate a small unmanned aircraft system during periods of civil twilight unless the small unmanned aircraft has lighted anti-collision lighting visible for at least 3 statute miles. The remote pilot in command may reduce the intensity of the anti-collision lighting if he or she determines that, because of operating conditions, it would be in the interest of safety to do so.