DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Why are my DNG's fisheye'd?

ScoobyDoo27

Reactions
Hi, I am new to drones and pretty much new to photography as well. I have been using my Mavic Air 2 to take aerial pictures of a house I am building. In the drone camera settings I have been shooting in RAW and JPG because I want to try to learn some basic photo editing while I am at it. However, I have noticed that the DNG files are creating a fish eye look while the JPG's don't. The best example I can provide is the picture of my house with a fence at the top of the photo. In the JPG from the drone (8-22-20) the fence is straight across while in the DNG (9-2-20) it curves at on the left end. Is this normal for shooting in RAW and how come it does this?

Attachments

• 9-2-20.jpg
    9-2-20.jpg
    8.6 MB · Views: 74
  • 8-22-20.JPG
    8-22-20.JPG
    4.3 MB · Views: 71
DNG is the exact same picture as the JPG just that contain more information.
In the examples i see different light conditions and different angles. The picture was not taken under the same conditions. You can see the gab from the side walk in one picture larger than the other one. Probably the drone was not even in the same angle causing that effect. That is my opinion.

Reactions: Kendallfordguy
Ahhh. Welcome to the forum !!!

DNG is the exact same picture as the JPG just that contain more information.
In the examples i see different light conditions and different angles. The picture was not taken under the same conditions. You can see the gab from the side walk in one picture larger than the other one. Probably the drone was not even in the same angle causing that effect. That is my opinion.

They also finish the roof between shots...

They also finish the roof between shots...