DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

why did this drone get blown away?

carlinski

Reactions
Hi all,

I had flown this drone maybe a dozen times, so I recognize I'm a newbie and likely made multiple mistakes to cause this drone to leave me...
But having lived it, and having pored over the flight log, I don't understand why this thing flew so high and got blown away.

It consistently flew higher and higher despite my constantly holding the left lever down.
Clearly there was wind involved, but why wouldn't it come down?
I had 3/4 mile of woods I would have been happy to crash it in, rather than have it blown out of range over people and property.
It just wouldn't come down.
Even in RTH and Forced Landing mode it was still goin up.

Based on the logs, I can't tell if it fell out of the sky (battery failure) when I lost the connection, or if it got out of range and may have continued further.
Clearly the battery was ready to give out, and it was at the very edge of it's transmission range....I'm just not sure which came first.

Hopefully it's clear, but just in case: I had zero intention of flying higher than 400' - I'm aware that's against regulations. Honestly, I thought I remembered that when you hit 400' it would override your attempts to go higher....
Either way, it's clear by my control log that I was trying desperately to bring it down, aside from a few moments where I checked to make sure the controls hadn't reversed!

Experienced analysis appreciated. Go easy on me, please :)

Carl

Wow ... this was impressive, if the barometric height actually was correct your Mini reached over 4700ft above the HP ... that's way higher than the SW lock of 500m (1640ft).