DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Why is DJI acting like the drone police???

L98ster

Reactions
Hi everyone,

Im new to DJI (currently flying a Mavic), and was just curious if anyone else feels that DJI is overstepping its boundaries by limiting flight in certain areas. Its great that the Go 4 app informs us what type of zone we are in, but it seems unreasonable to have paid over $1000 for drone, only to have DJI restrict where I can fly.

For example, I was asked to video a shooting event at a local gun club. The drone would be roughly 50 feet above the range, getting a birds eye view of the shooting course. This gun club is relatively close to an airport, and therefore I was not able to take off and video the competition.

If its lawful for a gun club to operate in close proximity to an airport, why does DJI think they have the right to tell me that i cant operate a drone.

I know of no other company that sells you a product, and the company themselves restricts its use at their own discretion.

thoughts??

-George

Hi everyone,

Im new to DJI (currently flying a Mavic), and was just curious if anyone else feels that DJI is overstepping its boundaries by limiting flight in certain areas. Its great that the Go 4 app informs us what type of zone we are in, but it seems unreasonable to have paid over $1000 for drone, only to have DJI restrict where I can fly.

For example, I was asked to video a shooting event at a local gun club. The drone would be roughly 50 feet above the range, getting a birds eye view of the shooting course. This gun club is relatively close to an airport, and therefore I was not able to take off and video the competition.

If its lawful for a gun club to operate in close proximity to an airport, why does DJI think they have the right to tell me that i cant operate a drone.