DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

With all the lost drones im being paranoid and mabye too cautious

DrizzyDrones

Reactions
So i find myself with alot of days i wont fly because of wind even tho lot of times it probably isn’t a problem but if i keep waiting on no wind situations my flying is gonna be alot less. Lol but im new to the hobby and even tho i am very confident in my ability and ive done enough reading to where I believe I would be able to not panic and give me the best chancees to recover in a bad situation (panic causes everything to go bad lol) however with all the lost drone posts i am hesitant with wind. I was thinking about taking one of those cheap gps trackers that take a sim card and attaching it to the mini at least I would get actual location a Opposed to the last known. Ive read something about someone putting one
Of those cheap Bluetooth tracker things like for lost keys that might work too starting from the last known location and keep trying to connect but i picked up a tracker from wish that takes a sim I use it on my dog when in the Woods.. they are really cheap but believe it or not they work and they are just big enough to fit a sim card in . Id feel safer to gain the confidence and get the feel for exactly what wind is ok and what it cant handle any thoughts?

These sim trackers might be too heavy for the mini.

The trackimo might fit on the top of a MM (back towards the battery cover) with velcro, you can't place it on the front as this would affect the gps antenna.

Reactions: Waldo Pepper