DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

30fps or 60fps ?

RonanCork

Reactions
Hi Guys,

I'm a Mavic 3 Pro:

I'm going to be shooting some footage - photo and mostly video for a local golf club.

I've an idea on the types of shots I'd like to shoot get but wanted to get some POI ones of a player taking a shot etc. also

I was going to record in 60fps (4k) for that. Am I right in thinking that slowing down or speeding up (i.e. like a speed ramp) footage "looks better/smoother" when shot in 60fps

In the case maybe I'll record all my footage in 60fps.

Any advantage/disadvantage to this?

Any guidance would be great!

Thanks Ro

Am I right in thinking that slowing down or speeding up (i.e. like a speed ramp) footage "looks better/smoother" when shot in 60fps
Yes, slowing down footage you definitely need 60FPS.
I almost always record in 60FPS.

We are a firm believer in 60 Frames as you can get some really nice clean Frames to Export from in the timeline.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly in the Rain an. Capture the Storm

Last edited:
Agreed on 60fps. I often fly quite slowly and speed UP the images to double their speed in FCP but 60fps also lets me slow them down by 2x without any problem. Just be sure you are shooting manually for both white balance and exposure so your subject doesn't get dark when you spin around facing the sun and then brighten back up in the other direction. Also ensure your shutter speed is 120 with the proper use of ND filters if you want some realistic blur on the club as it swings. If you want a sharp, clean club (understandably a potential option) then ensure a very fast shutter speed by NOT using an ND filter and locking in a high shutter speed in the Pro exposure settings that you use.

Reactions: Roofdrone