DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

EMERGENCIES ......IMMEDIATE ACTIONS....SUBSEQUENT ACTIONS.?

Andy Mac 230

Reactions
Morning guys and girls,
I am new to drone flying but have over 40 years experience of being a helicopter crewman.
My query is are there any guidelines as to what type of things can go wrong and what do we do as responsible pilots to minimise damage to people, property and our expensive drones.
I know that we were always taught that when it all goes wrong
FLY THE AIRCRAFT
Then carry out immediate actions for the scenario.
Then go through the emergency check list.

I have seen lots of checklists with regards to preflight, flight and post flight but none for any it’s all gone wrong

Any guidance would be much appreciated

Reactions: Simone L
My query is are there any guidelines as to what type of things can go wrong and what do we do as responsible pilots to minimise damage to people, property and our expensive drones.
You can get a good idea of the things that can go wrong from threads on the forum, particularly in this sub-forum: Mavic Crash & Flyaway Assistance

Unfortunately, once things get tricky, it's usually too late for any action to minimise damage etc.
Understanding what could go wrong and how to ensure that it doesn't is the best strategy to prevent serious issues.

Reactions: THE CYBORG
The only thing I can truly think of that will be unaccounted for is birdlife. Even the other day having flown several hundred metres across a paddock, when I return I had a chaperone in the form of a wedge-tailed eagle, which circled me until pestered away by some smaller birds.

There are a few good responses on how to react during a bird attack, which can be found in a few threads.

It's all too tempting to do some drone-burnouts, but the more I fly, the more I capture what I like, land, reassess (such as check battery levels, change if required), and then go again.