DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie here with IMU calibration ?

hammick

Reactions
I a new MPP owner. I have about 20 flights under my belt.

I updated the DJI Go 4 app on my Samsung S7 so I decided to calibrate the IMU. I did it just like the screen showed and it was successful. Then I started thinking that maybe I should have held the drone level on the sides and butt down calibration. If you just set it on the table the drone is not level when on it's sides or butt.

For IMU calibration should all five steps be with the drone resting on the table or should it be held level?

Thanks for any help.

PS: Here is a shot of where I will get to fly a lot. I'm a lucky SOB

TUuigmD1Fu513eySbLjxOvU5BjNADC4Lau0dmxvwGbA7X8v05d3p0dGybQ9klDFSDXhR3s0j818SBK6qPmjt77TChi-rRmS2Ak9DxvQvX8Gh0YuIM2FrSrIPXKfbKHx7fHtEIx7I8TgMJWGOQBa4PCWUSm9sxW9vcqhdEByeRoDFSuNFtw1F9Vl2LyuR1BFF1UaD_uraNAzRColXV0_GI59mEl90LgAHCP7h7KzV9Cgg0NX52wEjsobOAxKprr2DGpVdXvubCQwxjKAfllm-Oo2tpUMqLCuSCqSODuEzSJpnjj33yDtOGw449-gfOHG0YptbvWsx9p_adbSeC2HvYMkW5d8aA64CY6YheNDGwouoPv0ciQxY-H3vXP846OUx6NBUY1PmZeEkL5-wZeo_Vor9Mav6xakuXzhGCxOpWcPUKcHUGX8-QXEOpM-70Yo7x9dGZ3WWHZCXF5ikmWxxeQ_CWYdngcYbj3ObtkcBL71Ls47aJ1Pk-0A69q7_nARWu0qHNtIi2OhZpxiV51nyq0SA05yjQwY0lH6V3odu411b7ZVR-vsgbEYlpjUXBSwDIPSa3BYweibU5ZGgJjS-LkQ2y9ZtBbElQ-iiOwnHk0mnZyLjWsZf7zzSSMBmBSaJSg4nCFNGAKZoIloCkTfZPDF6R-2vNxyqknQ=w1028-h770-no

For IMU calibration should all five steps be with the drone resting on the table or should it be held level?
The IMU calibration should be done like this:

Doesn't matter, the important thing is that you don't touch it while it's doing each step - it's averaging accelerometer/gyroscope samples over several seconds, if you hold it "level" with your hands, the samples will be all over the place.

You should never hold the Mavic when performing the IMU calibration.

Reactions: Xtreme Drone Pilot