DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Using generative AI to plan a drone shoot in Maui

Dangerly

Reactions
I'm planning a trip to Maui, in part to donate my services to help local people recover from the fires. But it's also Maui and I'm a recreational drone pilot, so I'm wondering how can I best find places to fly? I just got a brand new Google Bard (AI) account, so I asked this question:

I'm planning a trip to Maui, and as part of that trip I would like to capture some drone video of the area. I am an FAA certified recreational pilot. I'd like you to help me do my best to ensure I'm following all FAA, State, and local drone laws and regulations, as well as do my best to ensure I minimize my impact on local people or wildlife. Please suggest three locations that I could shoot photos and videos with my drone to capture the natural beauty of Maui.

Bard replied:

3 Drone-Friendly Locations in Maui:​

1. Waihee Ridge Trail:

Image of Waihee Ridge Trail, MauiOpens in a new windowmauiguidebook.com
Waihee Ridge Trail, Maui

This popular hiking trail offers stunning panoramic views of West Maui, Kahului, and the Pacific Ocean. It's a great place to capture the diverse landscape of Maui, including lush rainforests, volcanic peaks, and the coastline.

• Local Regulations:
    • Drone flights are allowed within the Haleakala National Park boundary, but they must comply with all FAA regulations and be flown below 400 feet.
    • Avoid flying near wildlife, cultural sites, or populated areas.
    • Be aware of other trail users and give them the right of way.

2. Nakalele Blowhole and Sweetheart Rock:

Image of Nakalele Blowhole, MauiOpens in a new windowmauiguidebook.com
Nakalele Blowhole, Maui

Located on the rugged North Shore of Maui, this spot is known for its dramatic blowhole, which can shoot water up to 100 feet in the air. Sweetheart Rock is a picturesque offshore rock formation that adds to the beauty of the scene.