DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MA1 vs. MA2 – A Practical Comparison

IMHO1FWIW

Reactions
So I've been eyeing my first, serious drone for a couple months, but held off on pulling the trigger because of all the rumors regarding MA2 upcoming release. Wondering what the practical difference will be between MA1 and MA2.

I understand the benefits of bigger battery. We're clear there.

ADS-B – I get what it does. What I don't understand is why I, as a consumer living in the US, would want to pay more for this feature, presumably? Not saying I'm against safety, but given that we seem to be in the "early days" of FAA drone regulations. Is this a feature worth buying?

Occusync 2 – I get this one as well. I guess my question would be, how bad is the MA1 wi-fi system in comparison? I live out in the suburbs, and don't envision flying the drone in dense urban areas with a lot of radio noise.

Thx.

Reactions: Pilotti100
Is this a feature worth buying?
Operating more than 2 years with M200 aircraft equipped with ADS-B IN, I say no, it's not worth the extra money (if it's only $20,- then OK, but you know, it's DJI...)

how bad is the MA1 wi-fi system in comparison?
Occusync 2 outperforms the WiFi-based Mavic AIR transmission capabilities by miles (literally)

What else might be the meaningful differences between MA1 and MA2?
Wait until the official introduction on April 27th, 2020 ...

Reactions: FEMit
With the new proposed FAA regulations, ADS-B may be a good idea if you plan to use it for 2 or more years. Right now though it's not needed.

With the new proposed FAA regulations, ADS-B may be a good idea if you plan to use it for 2 or more years. Right now though it's not needed.

I think the FAA would have a tough time grounding all the existing, over 250 gram, drones that lack ADS_B, or restricting them to "air parks".

Reactions: kwolfskill