DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

4K & 1080p processing power???

Miller_Drone

Reactions
Ok. So, I've been messing with Adobe Premier, learning the ins and outs with my Mavic Pro. Lots of YouTube tutorials and such. I prefer shooting video in 4k... I know it's big files, but I would sooner have the material and back down the res. than not have it at all.

My question, (I'm new to editing, so please be gentle)... I'm running the latest version of Premier on my Microsoft Surface, trying to edit... 256GB storage, Intel i5, 8GB of RAM... and Adobe is lagging soooooo sllllooooowww, then crashing. Is it the fact that I'm recording in 4K, or trying to edit and splice in 4K... or what am I doing wrong? My Surface kicks butt otherwise, I've never seen it act like this...

Ok. So, I've been messing with Adobe Premier, learning the ins and outs with my Mavic Pro. Lots of YouTube tutorials and such. I prefer shooting video in 4k... I know it's big files, but I would sooner have the material and back down the res. than not have it at all.

My question, (I'm new to editing, so please be gentle)... I'm running the latest version of Premier on my Microsoft Surface Pro 4, trying to edit... 256GB storage, Intel i5, 8GB of RAM... and Adobe is lagging soooooo sllllooooowww, then crashing. Is it the fact that I'm recording in 4K, or trying to edit and splice in 4K... or what am I doing wrong? My Surface kicks butt otherwise, I've never seen it act like this...

i5 and 8GB is really not up to editing in 4K timeline resolution. Not even i7 and 16GB, unless you also have a beefy 4-6GB heavily cooled graphics processor (GPU), which physically only fit in a full blown PC cabinet.
But you can edit from a proxy of a lesser resolution and after that render in 4K. There are a lot of PP tutorials on Youtube about this.

I agree with Lake_Flyer, and add that you have to have a 4K monitor to make the 4K end product worth while