DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2S and mapping overlap question

mavictk

Reactions
I am new to mapping and am trying to figure out the math. I know that the Air 2S has a FOV of 88 degrees and can use trig to figure out how many feet of land can be pictured at various altitudes. Now, for improved mapping I know that a certain overlap of pictures is required. Suppose that I plan for a 90% overlap using the 88 degree FOV that would be the overlap for horizontal size of 5472 pixels. Now, what about the vertical overlap. Since there is a 3 by 2 ratio or 3648 pixels would I need to cut the distance between pictures by two thirds to make sure I am getting a 90% overlap of pictures from the horizontal overlap calculation?

By way of example I calculated that if I fly at 120 feet then each picture is 232 feet horizontally and, therefore I need to take a picture every 23 feet for 90% overlap horizontally. What about vertically? I am thinking that I need to set the actual feet between pictures at 15 or so feet to get the 90% overlap on vertical and horizontal will just have a greater overlap. Right?

I am not an expert on mapping but normally I use 75% frontal by 70% Sides. I personally believe depending what do you want to map 120 FT is way to close. I will start with 275FT. I never had that much overlap but probably will be fine taking pictures that close to the ground.

By way of example I calculated that if I fly at 120 feet then each picture is 232 feet horizontally and, therefore I need to take a picture every 23 feet for 90% overlap horizontally. What about vertically? I am thinking that I need to set the actual feet between pictures at 15 or so feet to get the 90% overlap on vertical and horizontal will just have a greater overlap. Right?
You are making things much too hard for yourself.