DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Bill HR-2864

4 inch pistons

Reactions
I can’t believe no one is talking about this on the board.

At this point in time, it’s just someone’s thought.
If it goes through the house, keyboards will become a bit more active.
No sleep loss for me at the moment.

Reactions: New England Droning
There was this thread:

Reactions: New England Droning
Gooberment is as Gooberment does.

Not good news

Reactions: @Rip
I still haven’t heard from any actual journalist, law expert, or official summary of the bill that, even if passed, this is an actually a ban on consumers using or purchasing DJI equipment. Best I can tell, and please understand I am not an expert, is this is a bill to add DJI to the FCC covered list.

Being on the covered list isn’t a blanket ban for normal citizens using or purchasing equipment made by the manufacturer like is being reported. The limitations placed on each company on the list are varied and the limitations are specific to a certain type of product for a specific use case. For instance, the limitations for a company called Dahua are limited to:

Video surveillance and telecommunications equipment produced by Dahua Technology Company, to the extent it is used for the purpose of public safety, security of government facilities, physical security surveillance of critical infrastructure, and other national security purposes, including telecommunications or video surveillance services provided by such entity or using such equipment.”

I can and do buy Dahua equiptment and use it all the time. They make security cameras and I have noticed no difference since they were added to the list. It might make a difference for Government users but not normal private citizens.