DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Choppy and pixelated video

SkyIScrape

Reactions
Anyone have any ideas as to what is going on here?

Yes, I did fly it out of the house, which is at 72°, into 8° weather. Yes, I know it’s not smart to fly indoors.

I haven’t flown this bird in over a month and a half, so I did a gimbal and compass calibration prior to take off.

Thoughts?

What happens when you fly outside when there is nothing (e.g. a house) between the Mavic and remote controller?

What happens when you fly outside when there is nothing (e.g. a house) between the Mavic and remote controller?

Never had issues before. Flown it at least 20 times prior. This is the first time it acted like this at the house. It did something similar on one or two other flights but not to this extent.

The remote always didn’t have any objects between it. I stepped out on the porch when it was outside. When I brought it back down I was standing in the doorway with nothing between remote and bird.

How were the remote controller antennas positioned when the Mavic was flying directly above you?

The flat side of the antennas should always point directly at the Mavic. If the Mavic is flying directly above you (the worst place to fly signal-wise), you'll most likely have to reposition the antennas.

The flat side of the antennas should always point directly at the Mavic. If the Mavic is flying directly above you (the worst place to fly signal-wise), you'll most likely have to reposition the antennas.

Yes, that’s what I meant by the 45 degree angle. I actually learned that from a post you had a couple months back. I the only point in the video can I say it was above my head was upon landing but not directly above. But I do see your point and that may be the answer for the choppiness at the end of the video but the really choppy parts I definitely had the flat side of the antenna pointed at the machine.