DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

D-Log, Compression and Dynamic Range

Todd Reimer

Reactions
I'm an experienced photographer, but will be new to videography. I've been researching as much as I can about what to do to get the best possible video out of your drone's camera. However, I've been seeing conflicting views on whether using D-Log is a good idea or not.

Example of video that is very pro-DLOG
Example of video that is very anti-DLOG

My gut tells me that without shooting RAW, that DLOG actually may cause problems caused by compression having to throw away more information unless the scene you are shooting is already very flat. However, I have no real world experience.

Any thoughts on the matter from you experienced pilots about the quality, sharpness and dynamic range potential based on the chosen method?

Thanks for your input!

Reactions: Dougie
As usual there's no correct answer as either method gets OK results.
Using one of DJIs own LUTS with D Log is a quick and easy start point.
When most output is viewed at 1080p on youtube the in depth analysis of histograms seems a bit pointless

I see Log as similar to RAW in stills which I've used for years, so prefer that regardless.
One of the worst things you can do is have sharpness too high when recording.
Everything else is adjust able within reason but over sharp start point can't be reversed.

The problem with D-LOG is that is used to be great... the Phantom 4 launched and everyone could get much better footage with it and the other DJI drones by shooting in D-LOG then grading the footage.
Unfortunately in the April 2016 firmware update (Phantom 4) DJI absolutely destroyed how D-LOG came out... it was muddy, flat, dull and posterised. They did the same to the Inspire X3 and probably the Phantom 3 series as well (I only had the Phantom 4 and Inspire X3 at the time).