DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Distance

fairwaychris510

Reactions
I'm a new Mavic Pro owner, and I was just wondering why my drone will only fly 2200 feet away before I lose connection. I thought these things can go 4 miles or something.

What type of area/surroundings are you flying in?
What device/s are you using?

I'm a new Mavic Pro owner, and I was just wondering why my drone will only fly 2200 feet away before I lose connection. I thought these things can go 4 miles or something.
Howdy from Wyoming fairwaychris, welcome to the community, plenty of fine folk and excellent information here.

The 4 miles are "under ideal circumstances" and your results will vary. Trees, buildings, power lines, and terrain can drastically affect your connection. From my house I can fly further to the South than to the West because there are some high-voltage transmission lines to the West.

I personally do not fly out farther than I can see it (its a comfort thing for me).

Here in the UK, the drone code is 500m max (1640 feet).
I've pushed mine to 2000' in a remote, uninhabited area but any further and I struggle to see it.

As others have stated, this is completely dependent upon a large number of factors. I have personally flown a P4P and I2 to 20,000 feet away from home point, but that required a very open area, proper antenna orientation, etc.

Correct, it depends on how agressive you fly your drone too. I use to fly no longer than 11000feet so it can return easily

Distance varies based on surrounding environment. Rural vs Urban; Large obstacles/structures (buildings, trees, houses, etc.) vs wide open flat land or water (lake/ocean). Power lines, cell phone towers, and wi-fi congested areas also affect distance/signal performance.

@fairwaychris510, here are some troubleshooting steps to try to figure out what is reducing your range:
  • Enable airplane mode on your mobile device