DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Final Cut Pro- ''Video Properties of this clip are not recognized'

Boscobrown

Reactions
When I go to load a magic clip in to FCP X I get error in the image below. I am very new to FCP X and have absolutely no idea what this means or how it will affect my video.

Can anyone shed some light here for me?

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2016-12-10 at 06.54.08.png
    Screen Shot 2016-12-10 at 06.54.08.png
    608.9 KB · Views: 25
Every FCPX project needs to have a target output size/framerate set ahead of time. This is the maximum you will "Share" later.

When you create a new FCPX project, you can specify the size and framerate yourself. If you don't do that, then the first piece of media you drop into the project will be inspected and the whole project will be set to match that size and framerate... if FCPX is familiar with it. Your message just means that it's not familiar with this size, so it wants some confirmation. Is this what you want?

I think so. But when I add a video into the timeline it seems to reduce the quality and decrease the resolution. Even if I choose the size and res shown in my screenshot.

What should I choose to make sure I do not lose quality and resolution?

I am shooting in 2.7k 30fps

I simply looked at the Mavic specs to understand what they really mean by "2.7k". Mavic – Specs, FAQ, Tutorials and Downloads This equates to 2704x1520 pixels, 30 frames a second.

6LRYh2y.jpg

In FCPX, I took those values and plugged it into the "New Project" information panel.

E7tOn1V.jpg