DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Fly app crashes all the time on my Galaxy 9+ phone

mraroid

Reactions
Hi folks....

I am new to drones. I have a Mavic Mini Fly More kit.

I flew the mini a few times in my house. The DJI Fly app on my Samsung Galaxy 9+ phone would often crash. As I was indoors, I thought that was the issue - maybe bad WiFi.

Today I drove out to a open field and tried to fly outside for the first time. Take off and flying around a little bit worked just fine. But when i hit the button to come back home, in the DJI Fly app, the app would crash. I would launch the app again, and again hit the button. It would crash again. This went on and on. I tried it maybe 8 times. All 8 times the app would crash. I thought that maybe my fat fingers were not hitting the return to home icon in exactly the correct place. I have a stylus with my phone, so I used that so I could hit exactly where I was suppose to. No luck. Being new, I panicked and was not sure how to get the drone back. It was maybe 400 feet away from me, and about 100 ft in the sky. Then I remembered that the remote had a hardware button on it to make the mini come back and land. So I pressed that, and the drone came back and landed correctly.

My Samsung Galaxy 9+ is with T-Mobile. I am running the latest software from them. I have a 256 GB SD card in my phone and it is mostly empty. My phone was about 90 % charged up when I started flying. As far as I know, I do not have any other issues with my phone. I did do a virus scan just in case, and it came up with nothing.

Before I took off, I looked at the transmission in the Fly app. It showed 3 very shot red bars. And it showed one green bar that was maybe 4 times as tall as the extremely shot red bars. I had a total of two green bars. The other green bar was just slightly taller then all the red very shot bars.