DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying Mavic in Iceland, things to prepare?

jordandhs

Reactions
HI All,

newbie here who just received my very first DJI drone, the Mavic Pro,

i had been flying my 3DR solo (bestbuy deal) before with around 10 hours experiences and the Mavic Pro size caught my eyes, been waiting for 2 months and finally bite the bullet and bought one.

My trip to Iceland will be in 2 weeks, estimate temperature would be around 20F-40F.

my main goal will be flying over the cliff and do some video footage of the waterfall, northern lights, scenery, follow-me (rental car following on road).

my concern is, what are the chance the prop will ice and freeze up? and what can i do to prevent them from happening? i googled around and people were saying silicone shoe spray will do the trick.

i flown my solo up Mt. Charleston (mid 20F) quite a few times and I was never aware there were such thing with prop icing up, the drone flew perfectly fine and i enjoyed every second of it.

I will be bringing both my 3DR solo and my Mavic Pro with me and mainly will be using the Solo as my main drone as I had a lot more confident flying it since its big and heavy, and knock on wood it won't be a big loss if things DOES happen.

what are the best setting if i were to fly at night to capture northern light?

what else should i be watching out for?

Thanks in advance

Awesome! You're going to have a great trip! I was just there back in November. The temperatures I experienced were about the same as what you are expecting.

- Prop icing wasn't an issue, but I wasn't flying in waterfall mist in sub-freezing temperatures either. It was slightly warmer when I decided to do that...maybe 36F or so lol. Also, I didn't prepare at all for icing props.
- Keep your batteries warm and charged. You'll be using them a lot.
- Watch out for the wind! It can be ridiculously windy at times. Like waterfalls going sideways windy!