DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying near railways in the UK

Johnmcl7

Reactions
I know the main rules for flying a drone in the UK but was looking to check the railway rules which are listed here:

Drone safety and the law

It seems fairly straightforward but would appreciate confirmation particularly when there's dire warnings about filming near railways, I'm not filming commercially and just looking to take some shots myself in the countryside a good distance from the railway line.

“You must not fly a drone anywhere near the railway” sounds bs. I think common sense and “
  • It is a criminal offence to fly a drone on, over or within 50 metres of the railway or within 150 metres in built up areas.
  • It is a criminal offence to fly a drone on, over or within 50 metres a railway station or within 150 metres in built up areas.”
Is the legal requirement..

Reactions: Johnmcl7
I'm fairly new to all this, but "You must not fly anywhere near the railway" shouldn't be under the heading 'criminal offence' as 'anywhere near' is entirely arbitrary and open to interpretation.

Really, all this seems to do is clarify that the track is considered a 'structure' and is therefore covered by Articles 94 & 95 of CAP 393.

That said, I'd be interested to know what legislation they mean when they say that it's an offence to fly 'over' the railway. The language suggests that's a separate condition to the 50m requirement, but the CAA specifically allows for overflying structures so long as you're higher than 50m.

I believe it is a railway bylaw, there’s loads of them that seem to be more powerful that standard criminal law