DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gps drop

Anthonyk

Reactions
Well after many flights 37+. I experienced my first gps drop. After the mavic switched to atti mode I was able to fly it back no problem. Thank you Syma. Lol after checking things out I saw a IMU error in flight. So just looking things over and checking UAV forecast again. I saw the kp index had went up to 4. Being that I have always errored on the cautious side I never fly when it's over 3. I wonder if this is what may be causing gps loss at times. Being a amateur radio operator I know that atmospheric conditions can cause a lot of issues with radio signals. And being the kp index is a measurement of geomagnetic storms effect on the atmosphere. Could this be part of the cause in drop gps? Just a thought! And I'm thankful I learned to fly without gps assistance. As it kept me from panicking because when the drown first switched it took a few seconds for the drone to respond to stick input. But thank you DJI for this awesome machine.