DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How much highlight recovery can be reasonably expected from HLG video?

js47

Reactions
Site
www.jakestarrphotography.com
I may have taken ETTR a little too far, and admittedly this is my first time ever trying to edit a video, but adusting the exposure of this video feels like editing a JPG image. There is almost zero adjustability to it. I expected it would be nearly as editable as a DNG from the same sensor (which doesn't have great highlight recovery either to be fair, but it is much better than this). The file I am using is 5.1k HLG H.265, 59 seconds long, and 1.05 GB — large enough that I think it should contain more data.

I am using Davinci Resolve 17, which is the latest version that will work with my hardware. I'll attach a screenshot where the only adjustments made to the clip were highlights and shadows. Original is on the left and "edit" is on the right.

There are a few possible issues I can think of:
1. I don't have any idea what I am doing in Davinci Resolve, and I am doing something terribly wrong.
2. I burned the highlights when recording the video.
3. A combination of the above.

Any ideas are very welcome.

Screen Shot 2023-09-01 at 10.57.30.png

For comparison, here is a photo I took 2 minutes later. The exposure settings were different, but the relative exposure is -1.67 EV compared with the video. Unless video is totally different than photo, at least some of that overexposure should be recoverable.

Screen Shot 2023-09-01 at 11.36.48.png

Look at your scopes. The top flat lines are clipped highlights in the sensor data. Once digital data is clipped, you can never recover it. The only solution is less exposure in the beginning. HLG does not impact exposure directly, it simply adjusts the contrast curve between the high clip and low clip levels.