DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How to record and edit in 4K?

mdji37

Reactions
Hi there, this is my first post and this may seem like the most obvious question, but I'm totally new at drones!

I received my Mavic a few days ago, and have been trying to shoot in 4K, so in the camera settings from my phone (connected to controller, mavic on) in the app - I click on 4K as the option for recording videos and I have only been recording short videos about a minute long just to use that short file as a tester. Anyway, I get the sd card, put it in an adapter and plug it into my mac. Straight away in Finder, I am able to locate my clip and watch it very smoothly from Quicktime.

However, it doesn't seem 4K quality at all..and on the app it says the specs are 720p(unless that is playback quality from my phone)? I have not done ANY post processing on the clips yet and here is where my second question comes in to play: how exactly do I edit this clip? import my clip straight away into premiere pro? I was researching and heard that you need to convert the clip into something premiere will be able to work with (more easily) such as MPEG-2 - I downloaded a converter but it somehow doesn't work? I'm super confused if someone could explain to me how to record START to finish including how to import to premiere in 4k, would be amazing!

Btw, my laptop isn't "beefy" as some people put it, has 16gb of ram, but I at least want to try this. Thank you. Or at least in 1080... at least!

Hi mdji37!