HOW TO: Set Mavic Pro camera focus

Discussion in 'Mavic Pro Discussions' started by msinger, Oct 12, 2016.

  1. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    US
  2. Dronebow

    Dronebow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    70
    Ok, I have had a question on this and have yet not asked. This seems like a good place to do that.
    Q: So this is a moving platform. When you tap to focus and then move, what happens to the focus??
    Followup Q: if you are filming and tap to focus and continue to fly around, will you have to continue to tap to focus to keep things sharp??
     
  3. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    US
    You will have to reset the focus if whatever your filming is a different distance than what you previously tapped.

    Yes -- if you're trying to focus on something nearby. For most flights, tapping the sky to set the focus to infinity (like the Phantom) will be the best setup.
     
  4. tomnjfl

    tomnjfl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Florida
    I have a follow up to the first question. So let's imagine a shot I'm trying to get. I want to stand on side of a cliff or on a rock (or something like that), and I want the Mavic to start real close to me (let's say about 5 feet away) and then pan up and away at a 45 degree angle. How would you handle the focus in that situation? Would you have to keep tapping the screen as it pulls away?
     
  5. Rick

    Rick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Once it was 25 to 30 feet away (possibly closer) the lens focus range would have got to infinity, so no need to adjust any more than that. If there is a slider for focusing in the GUI, that would make things super smooth.
     
  6. tomnjfl

    tomnjfl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Florida
    I can see how that makes sense. But when I look back at some of the first samples of footage from the Mavic came out, the "soft" or blurry look seems to effect the entire image. If the tapping just re-focuses the camera, you would think that it was already focused on some other area and just needed to be told where to focus. But in Casey Neistat's footage, for example, the entire screen is blurry or soft. If that's just because he didn't tap to focus, you would think that some part of the image should be in focus already. Or am I thinking of it all wrong?
     
  7. Deckyon

    Deckyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    First, Casey was wrong, and he admitted it. Throw his footage out the window. There are others who show the actual function of the focusing mech.

    If you use Casey as an example, you may as well get a Parrott BeBopp. I think even that drone is smarter than he is.
     
    Dirty Bird likes this.
  8. tomnjfl

    tomnjfl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Florida
    I know he admitted it. But what exactly did he do wrong? I though his only mistake was that he forgot to tap the screen to focus?
     
  9. Deckyon

    Deckyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    That is correct. But the near focus is narrow (a few feet DoF) and when you dont follow through and get your far focus set, then everything is out of focus.

    If you want to take a "selfie" for instance, or are in tripod mode and want to show real DoF, then you will set the focus on a near object (I believe it is within 30 feet, max).

    If you are doing landscapes, and only care about everything further than the (roughly) 30 feet, then you tap the screen and focus on a distant, high contrast, object.


    There are so many videos out there that show this, I really dont know how this is still an unknown.
     
    Yourguide likes this.
  10. tomnjfl

    tomnjfl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks, I get it now...it just clicked, finally! LOL

    I guess my fear was that you'd have to keep tapping to focus if you were flying over a mountainside, or something like that. But I see now what you mean, as long as what you're filming is beyond the roughly 30 foot threshold, it's all going to be in focus regardless. The tapping would be required for filming where your subject is very close, which I rarely ever do. So I'd just have to put Mavic in the air, tap once to set the focus, and then it would be fine for the rest of my flight.
     
  11. Rick

    Rick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Just read that the camera gets focus on the first thing it sees when the Mavic is first turned on
     
  12. 2nd2non

    2nd2non Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    TTF is something that will require a new thought process when filming unless you're using infinity all the time and distant subjects. TTF took some getting use to on my X5 as I constantly like to fly from distant in for close shots. The close shots look soft unless you TTF again.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. kykayak

    kykayak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    49
    There are multiple programmable buttons, so I'm going to set my C2 button (Right top) trigger as focus. That way I can set my focus easily while flying and don't have to worry about taking eyes off my bird, or hands off to touch the screen.
     
    Deckyon likes this.
  14. Deckyon

    Deckyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    Will be doing the same thing. Using same button on the same side as the gimbal control.
     
  15. Shacky

    Shacky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    28
    Is it possible that a future firmware release would include auto-focus?
     
  16. Deckyon

    Deckyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    You wont want AutoFocus. It would be a nightmare, considering how much a drone moves, and how quickly. Assign the C1 or C2 to focus.
     
    kykayak likes this.
  17. Shacky

    Shacky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    28
    Assigning the buttons is a great idea.
    How does the focus compare to what I'm used to on my P3A?
     
    kykayak likes this.
  18. Deckyon

    Deckyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    There are plenty of videos showing the focus. I cannot comment exclusively as I dont have either drone. However, what I have seen has put the MP in line with the P4.
     
  19. DefaultIT

    DefaultIT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    51
    Your P3A has fixed focus (nothing to control), so this will be a new thing. The closest thing you have now is an exposure priority zone that you can set by tapping the screen...that's pretty much how the focus control works on a Mavic.
     
    Shacky likes this.
  20. Butterpuff 6

    Butterpuff 6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    A continuous autofocus function could make sense when you're using active tracking, follow me, or point-of-interest, but you definitely wouldn't want it on while you were doing normal flying without the camera being locked on a specific subject.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Set Mavic Pro Forum Date
TACO-RC ND filters set (ND4/8/16/32) for DJI MAVIC PRO General Discussions Saturday at 12:02 AM
Mavic Pro | Best Camera Settings Photos and Videos Nov 27, 2016
DJI Mavic Pro best Picture & Sharpness Settings Mavic Pro Discussions Nov 9, 2016
DJI Mavic Pro Camera settings and Adjustments VIDs Photos and Videos Oct 29, 2016
DJI Mavic Pro quick unboxing and set up. Photos and Videos Oct 27, 2016

Share This Page