DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Im a DJI Mavic Pro 2 drone owner looking for places to fly

Hi from Basingstoke in Hampshire, and welcome to the forum! It is a great place for advice and tips

I totally agree with Flying Shroppie; and these are my thoughts:

1: Get up early to fly! Not only is the light better (golden hour and all that) but you are less likely to encounter people!

2: Fly high where you can. At 400ft (but still within VLOS: Visible line of site) a drone is less conspicuous and less noisy, so less likely to draw attention.

3: Join FPV UK: you can join with any drone, not just FPV. Not only does this give you public liability insurance, but they also have secured a CAA dispensation meaning you can fly from "recreational land" (otherwise prohibited in the Drone Code).

4: The National Trust owns a lot of open space areas, with no buildings and often in the middle of nowhere. Whilst I am not advocating any breach of NT restrictions, where such open space is involved, it is a question of "risk management" as to whether anyone is likely to get worked up about flying a drone from such land and whether any drone would cause any harm. I want to get some M2P photos of Stonehenge, for example, and it is surrounded by NT land......

5: Consider getting a Mavic Mini 2 as a second drone. As a sub-250g drone, there are far less restrictions on you. During lockdown, I got one to fly from my back-garden as the Drone Code gives a lot of leeway for such a drone:

"The rule on minimum distances to people is different when flying small drones and model aircraft that are below 250g, or in C0 or C1 class.

If you’re flying a drone or model aircraft that’s lighter than 250g or is C0 class, you can fly closer to people than 50m and you can fly over them.