DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Image softness from the MA2 - Am I crazy?

Reactions
Hi Everyone - Long-time lurker, first time poster here. I'm a landscape photographer and I've had my MA2 for about a year now, but just recently started to take my flying a bit more seriously (passed Part 107, shooting more, plans for future, etc). The more I shoot photography with it, the more I've noticed that my images are coming out pretty soft outside of the foregrounds. They look decent at first glance, but as soon as you look closer they fall apart pretty quickly. Mushy, noisy and undefined, and the depth is inconsistent - I notice this a lot when trees and hills are present, but it happens with cityscapes too.

Basically, I'm wondering A) Are my expectations for this 1/2" sensor too high, and this is how it's supposed to perform? B) Is this user error (either while shooting or in Lightroom) that could be accidentally degrading the image quality? C) Did I get a bad camera from DJI in this unit?

Sample raw images (unedited) are attached so you can play around and see what I mean. I'm not expecting them to be DSLR quality, but I can't help but feel like they should be coming out better/sharper? For reference, here's one local guy who I compare my images to, since I know he was shooting with a MA2 until he upgraded in June. His are generally super sharp, great color, low noise, and high IQ: https://www.instagram.com/oschapov/

Don't hold back on the critique - it's very possibly that I just need to improve! Thank you all in advance for your help!

Attachments

• BarHarbor-test.jpg
    BarHarbor-test.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 109
  • Bennington-test.jpg
    Bennington-test.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 103
  • BostonSunset-test-2.jpg
    BostonSunset-test-2.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 94
  • Lift-test.jpg
    Lift-test.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 82
  • MtnResort-test.jpg
    MtnResort-test.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 65
  • MtnRoad-test.jpg