DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

John's review of DJI Goggles with Mavic

John Locke

Reactions
Today I flew with the new DJI goggles around my neighborhood to see how everything works and looks. I've had a lot of experience with Headplay goggles over the last year, and I was pretty impressed with the clarity with my P4 and P3P, so now I have a Mavic also and just received the goggles Monday. I've only flown three batteries so my testing isn't extensive, but here's what I have learned so far.

1. The true unique capability of these goggles with DJI Mavic is the fact you aren't tethered to the RC with a cable. You can hand them to someone else (with touch pad locked of course) to see what you're seeing on the iPad. That person could be a half mile away too, if for some reason you need to do that, such as search and rescue, giving the rescue stud the ability to see from the air, a birds eye view, while talking to him by cellphone.

2. The quality of the product is top notch, rating a 9. The comfort of the goggles rates an 8 if you have a strong neck. The ability of using glasses with the goggles rates a 10, every comfortable and accommodating. The tip up ability of the goggle is very convenient if you have good young eyes, but don't help much if you need strong readers to focus the screen, more on that below.