DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic video looks like **** !

mojo43

Reactions
Look, I am not an expert, but I use my gear professionally every single day. I love the format/portability of the Mavic, but the image quality in video simply SUCKS!

I have tried tons of different settings/firmware/apps etc. The image quality either shows really bad sharpening halos with aliasing and artifacts and the image breaks up because the codec can't handle the detail. I really wish there was a solution to getting better image quality from it, but I just don't see how. All I keep reading is how everyone is so happy with this thing. How can that be?

(from the other side of the coin)

Reactions: lenzwizard
Maybe yours is bad, took me awhile but video for me looks good. Not sure how it would look on a tv, but on iPad Air 2 great.

Sorry to hear that my friend as my video quality is absolutely stunning. I'm shorting in 4K at 30fps without any issues at all. I'm also running Polar Pro Cinema Series Filters with no issue as well. Now with that said, I think it's all relative in regard to the gear your comparing it to and your expectations.

In comparison to my Mark IV or Panasonic X1, then there can be a world of difference depending on the shoot but for what I want the Mavic to do and for what my expectations were givens it's spec, I've been extremely pleased.

Hope your situation gets resolved and hopefully someone here can offer some insight.

Good luck!

Maybe yours is bad, took me awhile but video for me looks good. Not sure how it would look on a tv, but on iPad Air 2 great.

This is exactly the problem. The Mavid video is great for people who want to watch the video on their phones. It is not a true 2k image. Watch it on a tv or a laptop with 4k resolution.