DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New to the Hobby

A.manos

Reactions
Hello Droners, glad I did found you!
I am new to the drone thing, I fly rc airplanes and helis for the last 20 years
and I have a very simple question for you.
My cousin works at a major retail chain and he told me about a great
opportunity for a Mavic Air 1 which is 50% off right now.
I told him to lock the item for me and tried to do a research.
I found out that the first version of the Mavic Air is a very good choise
but I also found out that the air 2 is by some key points a greater drone!
The facts that I have is the low price of the air 1 and that I am new to this so I don't have
experience or great expectations from the results of making video or photography.
The only thing that I really want is because I am a kitesurfer, I want something easy
for my wife to make it follow me while I kite, something that I think that with the air 1
it can be done!
Please advice! Thank you!

Welcome to the Drone side! I also flew rc planes and gliders for years and decided to get a drone and never looked back! I was hooked. I have the mavic pro now but started with the Phantom.

The Air 1 would be a good choice (IMHO) for what you won't to do. Your wife should have no trouble with the Air 1 after a little training. Good luck!

Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .Thumbswayup

Thank you guys! This is a really warm welcome!!! But you didn't tell me about the dilemma I have!
Should I go with the really cheap air 1? Or is it a waste of money and should I go with the air 2???

Hello from the Crossroads of America A.manos.

Although the Mavic Air 1 may be a fine aircraft, the Mavic Air 2 is far better.