DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Real world explanation please

rltracy33

Reactions
1..Follow the safety guidelines of a community based organization.

This requirement for a recreation flight seems irrelevant to me if your not flying at a local field, yet it seems to be required for all flights. Our local field guidelines seem focused primarily on separation of different aircraft while on their field or an enforcement of existing FAA regs..
If I am flying over my home and local area how does this pertain to me? As a new pilot I am trying to understand and follow the rules but after reading thoroughly I just don't seem to really grasp this one.

Reactions: MKurr

This requirement for a recreation flight seems irrelevant to me if your not flying at a local field, yet it seems to be required for all flights. Our local field guidelines seem focused primarily on separation of different aircraft while on their field or an enforcement of existing FAA regs..
If I am flying over my home and local area how does this pertain to me? As a new pilot I am trying to understand and follow the rules but after reading thoroughly I just don't seem to really grasp this one.
A few different things:
  • With the re-authorization act of 2018 and ongoing implementation of new regulations to follow the requirements of that act, the community based guidelines are being replaced with actual rules and regulations which can be enforced by the FAA. Most of the previous guidelines will translate directly to the new regulations (i.e. 400 foot max altitude, no flying beyond VLOS, etc).
  • The regulations are not only for separation between RC craft. You are sharing the NAS with other aircraft of all kinds. You need to be safe so that your drone does not interfere with manned aircraft.