DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Seagull Drone Attack Prevention

PressMan

Reactions
Hello from Ireland,
Do any of you have any resolution regarding Seagull Drone Attack Prevention, please?

I Am wondering would one of those Drone Flashing Lights placed on top of the Drone do the job?
Do you have experience of my dilemma?

Thank You,
Sláin

Last edited by a moderator:
I have plenty of experience , and we have found there is no magic bullet or color or light that really helps.

You have to rely on VLOS and you dont want to come across as an injured bird in the sky as they love to attack from behind , Your best defense is a vertical straight up engagement , followed by some crazy ivans and VLOS is a must.

I have been working on a whistle that would attach , but have no idea how effective it will be yet.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly in the Rain.

I had the local eagle circle in, when I went up to get a view of my roof, and I have strobe. I put the drone down on the flat of the roof. Not sure there is anything that will work well.

Seagulls don't like it when you fly higher then them. Makes them nervous. Thinking they are the hunted now. So go up above them. Eagles and hawks your best to stay on the ground as you will not win that battle. Crows are the worst. They protect family and will do a barrel roll at your UAV if it stays hovering for to long trying to clip it with their wings to knock you out of the sky. Had that happen a few times. I got lucky and they missed but not by much. Again they hate it when you fly higher then them.

Do any of you have any resolution regarding Seagull Drone Attach Prevention, please?
Drone Attached Seagull Prevention (DASP) ...be good name for it! :)

I have no experience with Seagulls or Raptors directly attacking, just curious buzzards or a swarm of upset martins.