DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Spontaneous stuck gimbal on Mini 3 pro! No idea how.

vindibona1

Reactions
Democratic Peoples Republic of Crook County
Mercifully I took a 2 year C/R policy in July of 2022 when I bought the Mini 3. Everything was fine until Friday. I used it to take a few family photos, some photos of the new roof on my daughter's house and flew a bit with my grandson (up 200 AGL to avoid any obstacles as he controlled the sticks). Both with the family photo and the roof the gimbal worked fine as I angled it down to some extent in both cases.

As my grandson and I flew I got a low battery alert so landed it with RTH and changed the battery. When I fired it up again I got a "stuck gimbal" warning and could not get it unstuck by turning it off and on again, trying several times. No crashes of any kind with this drone. No scratches, dings, bangs. Like new condition. What could possibly cause a failure that wasn't induces physically?

Anyway, the thing is off to DJI for replacement. But I'm a little steamed that I have to pay $65 for any sort of prompt replacement unless I wanted to send it in for "warranty inspection" and wait God knows how long for them to look at it, declare the gimbal DOA and send a fixed drone or replacement. I guess it's a small price to pay. But the C/R will expire next July after a long cold winter. Then what? I suppose the thing to do is sell it when it comes back and buy a Mini 4 as DJI won't allow ongoing renewals of C/R? I understand the Mini 4 uses the same batteries as the Mini 3 so for $1000 less whatever I can get for the Mini 3 I can update my Mini.

@vindibona1 hi fellow flyer ,i suppose you considered the possibilty of debris ,of some sort in one or other of the gimbal stepper motors ,i say this because it doesn't take very much at all to compromise their movment,even putting a ND filter on the camera can do that