DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

To goggle or not to goggle?? Costco bundle comes with them but .......

AClineman

Reactions
But do I want or need them?

Newbie here looking to get the Mavic platinum. The goggles are included with the bundle. I am near sighted and read the paper and such without glasses, is that an issue pros and cons?

Also I have an I phone 7, do I use that with the controller?

Sorry for the dumb question just trying to educate myself before pulling the trigger.
Oh I also have an I pad, but I guess I can’t use that??

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
But do I want or need them?

Newbie here looking to get the Mavic platinum. The goggles are included with the bundle. I am near sighted and read the paper and such without glasses, is that an issue pros and cons?

Also I have an I phone 7, do I use that with the controller?

Sorry for the dumb question just trying to educate myself before pulling the trigger.
Oh I also have an I pad, but I guess I can’t use that??

Thanks in advance.
The goggles are more of a novelty for me. They do have a nice big picture, but they are big and you are unable to see anything around you when wearing them. I don't use them a lot, but from time to time I use them. As for your other questions, yes you can use your phone and yes you can use the ipad.

Reactions: AClineman
I didn't mind the goggles. They're pretty comfy on my big head and fit around my glasses. The picture is large and right in your face which is something that I like since sometimes the glare from the sun can wash out phones/tablets and make them hard to see. I think it's fun as a super immersive way to chill and spend a day flying, but I mostly fly when I'm alone and it's technically against the rules to wear FPV goggles and fly without having someone else to act as your spotter. If you're not worried about that and have the extra buck, I think they're still kind of fun to have.