DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

US Mavic 2 Pro registration question

Mike6158

Random Pixel Generator
Reactions
I have a Mavic Mini and a Mavic 2 Pro. The Pro has 0 flight hours one it (because I've been busy, tis the season and all that jazz). The little light bulb came on this morning... the M2P is well over the weight that requires it to be registered. The question for me is commercial or recreational. Is there a downside to registering commercial but flying recreational? As a new drone pilot I'm not likely to get (or look for) a paying gig. I don't even know if I would ever want to make my drones a job.

The Mavic Mini is light enough that it doesn't have to be registered, or does it?

Reactions: BigAl07
I have a Mavic Mini and a Mavic 2 Pro. The Pro has 0 flight hours one it (because I've been busy, tis the season and all that jazz). The little light bulb came on this morning... the M2P is well over the weight that requires it to be registered. The question for me is commercial or recreational. Is there a downside to registering commercial but flying recreational? As a new drone pilot I'm not likely to get (or look for) a paying gig. I don't even know if I would ever want to make my drones a job.

The Mavic Mini is light enough that it doesn't have to be registered, or does it?

Only downside to registering commercial is that each aircraft gets registered individually meaning $5 each every 3 years.

If you think you'll ever want to fly your mavic pro 2 "Commercially" then go ahead and register it that way now. No harm if you never do IMHO.

The Mavic Mini is only under 250gr if you don't add anything to it. Add prop guards, strobes etc and you're most likely OVER 250gr. I'd honestly go ahead and get my Hobby Registration # and put that on both aircraft so you're covered recreationally.

Also if you use the Mini in any commercial capacity it must be registered commercially regardless of it's weight.