DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Anyone fly their MM1 in light snow/sleet?

Mr. Noob

Reactions
I am a noob to drones, have had mine for about a month and love it! finding places to fly where I'm at (North VA) that doesn't have trees is a challenge, and I've used it primarily for photographing my job site (I'm a Commercial Construction Superintendent). I'd love to take it out and get snow shots, but don't want to risk trashing the MM.

I am a noob to drones, have had mine for about a month and love it! finding places to fly where I'm at (North VA) that doesn't have trees is a challenge, and I've used it primarily for photographing my job site (I'm a Commercial Construction Superintendent). I'd love to take it out and get snow shots, but don't want to risk trashing the MM.
The manual cautions not to fly it below freezing, and not to fly it in snow or rain.

I've broken the "below freezing" rule, but the drone itself was warm, and didn't stay outdoors for long.

Beware of airfoil icing. Visible moisture plus near-freezing temperatures can cause ice accumulation on the props, which can drastically reduce lift, leading to a crash or forced landing. Visible moisture includes clouds, fog, mist, drizzle, wet snow, rain, etc.

Reactions: Mr. Noob