DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Bit of a conundrum re which editing suite to go with?

DR has a much larger learning curve and the serious color grading tools are not in the free edition. It does however have that FREE edition and the big brother is available if you want to grow with it. That said, FCP is probably easier to use for most folks and pretty straight forward. If you're willing to invest the time my suggestion would be DR but if it's just home video kinds of stuff FCP is entirely capable.
Many thanks for your help. I think I am right in saying that F P requires a monthly subscription and if that is correct I am not really wanting to take that step. Had a look at DR on the iPad and although it is a bit different I am happy to have a bash.

As a professional filmmaker I use the Adobe Creative Cloud series which has Premiere Pro. Adobe also has non professional editing software which works very well. Take a look at Adobe.
I had a good go at Adobe Premiere a few years ago but I think there is a sub to be paid and I don’t do enough stuff to justify that. Thanks though for your help.

My niece is a professional filmmaker. She suggested I use the free Davinci Resolve if I was on a budget and didn't mind relearning a UI, or Final Cut Pro if I was willing to spend money and wanted something easier to use for a iMovie veteran.

Then after looking at the specs for my ancient iMac, she suggested sticking to iMovie, which is what I've done. 🤣
OK and thanks. You are probably right but I think I shall probably end up with DR. I fancy a bit of a challenge although I do know iMovie very well.

If you know some one using Video Edit software, ask what they use and if you could "look over their shoulder".

Once you've some idea, take couple of courses.

I use Edius and David Clarke of DVC, provides a full tutorial DVD, plus he will also assist if you get stuck.